About Us  

Organizational Structure and Administration

The Ministry of Public Safety comprises several departments and agencies, including Ministry Headquarters, the Department of National Drug Control, the Department of Corrections, the Bermuda Fire and Rescue Service and delegated responsibilities for the Bermuda Police Service and the Bermuda Regiment. The department heads report directly to the Secretary of Public Safety. In addition, the Ministry has responsibility for other statutory bodies appointed by the Minister. The Boards report to the Minister through the Secretary.

Legislative authority is through the following and other Acts:

  • The Constitution of Bermuda 1968
  • Police Act 1974
  • Defence Act 1965
  • Prisons Act 1979
  • Prison Rules 1980
  • Bermuda Fire and Rescue Services Act 1982

To view these Acts in detail, go to

Programmes and Services

The programmes and services of the Ministry relate to public safety and border control in Bermuda.

The Ministry of Public Safety provides leadership, oversight and coordination in the:

  1. Development of traditional and innovative approaches to address Ministry business
  2. Programme management and departmental operations within the Ministry
  3. Formulation and implementation of policy and legislation within the Ministry


The Ministry Headquarters has an establishment of 8 staff. The Ministry of Public Safety currently employs 1035staff members for the fiscal year 2013/2014.

Statutory Boards and Committees

The Ministry of Public Safety has responsibility for 5 Statutory Government Boards and Committees.

Funding and Budget

The combined Budget for the Departments in the Ministry in 2013 – 2014 is $124,681,000, which is approximately 10% of the total Government operating budget.

The Hon Michael H. Dunkley, JP, MP
Premier and Minister of National Security 
Premier Dunkley's Biography

One Government, One Community. Working Together.
Together We Can; Together We Must!